I know, we’re all getting older and the usual comments about Policemen getting younger still applies but recently I’ve felt my best years slipping into the near distant past.

It has been a bit of a rough few days since my return from that invigorating and revitalising break in lovely Somerset. I did enjoy, by some description, the holiday but apparently I did more damage than benefit. I participated in some rather vigorous walks, through stunning countryside and along footpaths that followed the coastline and others that recalled the old Mineral Railways. Now, I am not averse to a good hearty trek, being a keen gardener, neither am I inclined to forgo the trusty cycle in favour of a bus or taxi, even in heavy weather, so I was a little bemused,even perplexed to discover I had harmed myself by walking too much and too hard.

I am suffering now from something my Doctor has diagnosed as Plantar Fasciitis.  This was caused by over stretching or damaging the Fascii during those long walk. This condition was exasperated by the nature of my job on my return, which explains why it didn’t really start to show any symptoms until a few days after my return to work. I am old and I don’t repair as quickly as I used to,from injuries I never used to get when I was fitter, stronger more active and younger.

That hammered back to the front of my mind the evident mortality I, we, are hurtling helplessly towards. Ok, that was a bit over dramatic but I have been facing my increasing age this week. The good news is, my employers are opening a new branch in town and that will mean more trade, better figures for our area and a better service for our customers. The downside is the manager of this new venture is almost a foetus. He may turn out to be a very competent and efficient manager, that is no my concern. In fact, as his trade results will reflect on our overall figures, I hope he does very well, but my fear is that we trade in a very aged town.

Our local population leans towards the older citizen. Long retired and enjoying the comforts of 24 hour supervision and sheltered accommodation. For the new fresh young manager, this means having to convince the customers who are parting with their pensions that he is in fact the manager and not the work experience boy. If there are complaints to be dealt with, a firm and no nonsense approach is sometimes required and again, this may be difficult to put across when you have the appearance of a boy scout.

How does this make me feel?

Put simply, old. I have worked up to the same position a school leaver has now walked into. I have raised my own family to the point where my own son is older than this new addition to the team. I do hope that he succeeds and if he does ever need to call on me for advice, then I will happily give him the benefit of my many years of hard earned experience.

 

Then walk away gloating!

 

Leave a reply, don't be shy!

